What is GPS Tracking?
GPS tracking is a feature available to Gruntify Enterprise users, and will be rolled out to other Gruntify users in the future. Controllers in the office can see where the field workers are currently, and field workers can see who else is nearby.
How does GPS tracking work?
The Gruntify app uses the location services built into the user’s mobile device to determine the user’s location. If the user has the location services turned off, they will be prompted to turn them on before the app will run.
The Gruntify app sends its location to cloud based on the user’s movement.
- A User moving at under 5km/hr send updates every 5 minutes.
- A User moving at over 5km/hr send updates every 15 seconds by default. This allows you to see people on the move from job to job.
- After 16 minutes, the user is assumed inactive and their image turns grey on the map.
- After 2 hours, the user is assumed to no longer be at that location and is removed from the map.
My tracking stops working!
When the user closes the Gruntify app then the tracking will stop.
If the user loses network coverage then updates cannot be sent to the cloud, and their image on the map will initially turn grey and then be removed from the map. Once they get a network connection back, their location will automatically update.
If the user switches to another app on their mobile device then there is a chance that the Gruntify app will be stopped by iOS / Android. If this happens then the tracking will stop. Switching back to the Gruntify app will re-enable the tracking.
The power saving modes on some mobile devices affect Location Services, which in turn would affect the tracking quality.
If you are having trouble with the tracking missing sections, ensure that your mobile has the Gruntify app running in the foreground while you are travelling and that your mobile has a reasonable charge.
If problems continue then check that you have the latest Gruntify app installed and watch for when the tracking stops (e.g. is it happening after 10 minutes, is it at a particular time or a particular place) and report these details along with type of mobile device you are working (e.g. iPhone X, Samsung Galaxy A20) and the iOS / Android version if possible.
If you do not need a high level of detail for your field worker's location, you can reduce how often the location is updated when workers are travelling (over 5km/h). In the Workspace settings, increase the number of seconds between updates.
Users can turn off the tracking by going to Settings in their left hand menu and then selecting Location.